Principal component analysis and regression help

Hello! I’m using PCA on my data (45 columns, 63084 rows) and I noticed in the data section there are only 1000 rows. I tried changing the sample size in the PCA settings to be equivalent to the number of rows but it doesn’t change the number of rows listed in the data section of the PCA. I’m a little confused if this means it’s only working on 1000 random rows? I’m very new to PCA so I can’t tell if it’s functioning as it should :(. I even tried it with only 3 variables to see if there would be a difference but still no luck so I’m guessing it’s not supposed to give me more than 1000 rows? Also, I want to use the components from PCA to do a linear regression but I’m not sure how to do that in Exploratory?

Postscript

I did not know that it is possible to export unsampled data, as explained in the post below. So, the script is unnecessary. Sorry about that.

hi @Natasha_Lee

As you said, when I run PCA from the “analytics view”, it is sampled. Probably the larger the sample size, the longer it will take to visualize, so it will be sampled. It is also possible to import the principal component scores as a new data frame from the “Analytics view”, but it seems to be sampled in this case as well.

Therefore, I think we need to register a “R script” that can run PCA from the “step” and return the principal component scores. This is a rough R script…sorry I will post it for your reference.

by using this script, you can run the PCA from the “step” and then use the principal component scores to build a linear regression model. I apologize if I did not properly understand the intent of your question…I hope this helps.

do_pca <- function(df, ..., scale = TRUE) {
  # variables to be assigned to PCA func
  selected_cols <- tidyselect::vars_select(names(df), !!! rlang::quos(...))
  selected_df <- df %>% dplyr::select(selected_cols)

# variables to be not assigned to PCA func